Skip to content
Southend-on-Sea Counts — Southend-on-Sea, in numbers.Local help →

Southend-on-Sea · England

People and living standards

Southend-on-Sea council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Southend-on-Sea

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Southend-on-Sea local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 161,204 in 1991 to 185,214 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Southend-on-Sea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 163,340 people in 1996; 185,214 people in 2025. 13.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991161,204
1992162,428
1993163,487
1994164,386
1995163,928
1996163,340
1997165,092
1998163,820
1999162,915
2000161,585
2001160,362
2002161,159
2003161,437
2004161,488
2005162,645
2006163,776
2007165,429
2008168,150
2009170,013
2010172,122
2011174,274
2012175,196
2013176,350
2014178,610
2015179,203
2016180,465
2017181,405
2018181,877
2019182,115
2020181,276
2021180,655
2022180,685
2023182,327
2024184,503
2025185,214
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Southend-on-Sea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,393 people in 1996; 34,463 people in 2025. 6.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,134
199230,831
199331,504
199432,096
199532,361
199632,393
199732,896
199832,670
199932,800
200032,524
200132,126
200232,183
200332,040
200431,846
200531,845
200631,640
200731,869
200832,216
200932,514
201032,747
201133,160
201233,333
201333,403
201433,753
201533,879
201634,144
201734,319
201834,650
201934,672
202034,396
202134,064
202234,157
202334,420
202434,755
202534,463
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Southend-on-Sea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 98,827 people in 1996; 114,237 people in 2025. 15.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199197,395
199298,109
199398,689
199499,318
199598,984
199698,827
1997100,246
199899,595
199998,783
200098,064
200197,535
200298,505
200399,191
200499,672
2005100,995
2006102,759
2007104,109
2008106,193
2009107,415
2010108,844
2011110,122
2012109,980
2013110,277
2014111,468
2015111,553
2016112,198
2017112,791
2018112,781
2019112,653
2020112,111
2021111,923
2022111,540
2023112,556
2024113,847
2025114,237
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Southend-on-Sea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,120 people in 1996; 36,514 people in 2025. 13.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,675
199233,488
199333,294
199432,972
199532,583
199632,120
199731,950
199831,555
199931,332
200030,997
200130,701
200230,471
200330,206
200429,970
200529,805
200629,377
200729,451
200829,741
200930,084
201030,531
201130,992
201231,883
201332,670
201433,389
201533,771
201634,123
201734,295
201834,446
201934,790
202034,769
202134,668
202234,988
202335,351
202435,901
202536,514
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 180,685 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southend-on-Sea · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,8645.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,1532.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,5533.1%
White158,07987.5%
Other ethnic group2,0361.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 173,658 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southend-on-Sea · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White159,02391.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,6512.1%
Asian/Asian British6,4403.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,6472.1%
Other ethnic group8970.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 160,257 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southend-on-Sea · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White153,48395.8%
Mixed1,7681.1%
Asian/Asian British2,7121.7%
Black/Black British1,1070.7%
Chinese/Other1,1870.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Southend-on-Sea council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,771 per person in 1997; £26,130 per person in 2024. 142.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,771
199811,012
199911,627
200012,250
200112,988
200213,413
200313,799
200413,895
200514,209
200614,655
200715,115
200815,373
200915,892
201016,154
201116,287
201216,616
201317,166
201417,649
201518,565
201618,991
201719,640
201820,318
201920,807
202021,079
202122,084
202223,178
202324,732
202426,130
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Southend-on-Sea council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 1.5% in 1997; 0.6% in 2024. 0.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Southend-on-Sea council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19971.5
19981.7
19992.8
20002.9
20015
20026
20035.9
20042.4
20051.1
20060.1
2007-1.5
2008-2.4
2009-0.7
20100
20110
2012-1.6
2013-2
2014-2.4
2015-2.4
2016-1.4
2017-0.3
2018-0.4
2019-1.3
20200.4
20211.1
20220.9
20231.1
20240.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

19.9%

21 March 2021 · Southend-on-Sea local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Southend-on-Sea local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Southend-on-Sea local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£328,000

July 2026 · Southend-on-Sea local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,306

August 2026 · Southend-on-Sea local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.